Holy Crap I Own A Gun

23Apr12

An H.K. USP .45 compact to be exact. The H.K USP . 45 compact seen above.

I never thought I’d own a gun, even though I’ve been interested since probably 2000/2001. I never went through with the purchase because guns scared me. I’m still kinda nervous owning one, even if I’ve temporarily named her “Jenn.” What better way to get more comfortable than to give the gun a name.

My reasons for owning the gun are simple.

1) Personal protection: I’ve never been in a situation like Washington Times blogger Emily Miller, who walked in on several people ransacking a house she was staying in. I live in a nice neighborhood and I doubt anyone would try to break in. But I am occasionally out late and in neighborhoods that aren’t the best. Now owning a gun won’t make me any more safe, but if I’m ever in a situation where I need it it’s good that I’ll have one. Plus I may have to move to a not so nice neighborhood.

2) Conquering a minor fear: Handguns make me nervous. In fact, like my dad, I used to be deathly afraid of them. It wasn’t until 2005, when I took a class, that I mostly got past that. Guns are a tool. A tool which can seriously injure or kill someone, but they’re still a tool. And it’s always the person behind the gun that’s the actual killer. Not the gun itself.

3) It’s kind of fun to shoot: This is probably the least important reason, but it’s really kind of fun to go shooting. Along with shooting rifles at Boy Scout camp, I’ve shot handguns several times and enjoyed it. I know several people who use target practice for stress relief and I’m always looking for ways to reduce my stress levels. But like I mentioned earlier, it’s near the bottom of the list of why I got the .45.

4) I just wanted one: This is pretty self-explanatory. I’d been thinking about buying a gun, despite my nervousness about it. And I finally went through with it.

Okay, this is going to sound a bit PSA-ey but I think it’s important to BE RESPONSIBLE while handling a gun. Getting training is important too, especially if someone is going to own a gun or just want to learn about them. Take a class or find out from a friend or family member who’s proficient in them. The proficient part is very important. If you’re nervous about said friend or family member, go take a class.

A pal of mine wanted me to mention calling 911 and that’s really important too. If you find yourself in a situation where someone’s trying to break in, the police are only a call away.

And do NOT play around with guns, whether loaded or not. It’s just not worth the risk.

Okay PSA over.

As I’ve said several times, guns still make me a little nervous. But as the famous quote says, “Guns don’t kill people. People kill people.” I just hope I’m never in that situation where I have to pull the trigger for anything other than target practice.

So I’ve now joined the thousands of Americans who own a gun. I have no plans to join the NRA and I don’t know if I’ll get another gun. But I’ve got to admit, those Remington 1911s look really cool.



2 Responses to “Holy Crap I Own A Gun”


Leave a Reply

